DF-21 Forums Forum Index DF-21 Forums
The Dark Forces Community

DF-21.net Home | FAQ | Search | Memberlist  | Register 
Profile | Log in to check your private messages | Log in

A couple of novice INF questions:

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DF-21 Forums Forum Index -> Dark Forces Levels & Editing
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dinohog
Dianoga

PostPosted: May 08, 2010 00:11    Post subject: A couple of novice INF questions: View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote

As an INF newb, I've have a couple of questions about INF code that I hope the experts can help with.

Firstly, is it possible to use two elevator types to affect the same sector? For example, I would like to have a sub-sector both spin and go up and down. I used the INF code from GROMAS but it didn't work in my level (I am testing in DarkXL, could that be the issue?). Here is the code I tried most recently:

seq
class: elevator morph_spin1
master: off
flags: 1
center: 774 119
speed: -20
class: elevator move_fc
master: off
flags: 1
speed: 30
stop: 7 3
stop: 25 3
seqend

Secondly, I have a set of sectors that I am using as stairs. The stairs start flat and the player nudges a switch to set the stairs to the up position. In a room off the top of the stairs is a hidden switch that changes the stairs to the lower position where there is a secret room. The problem is, the drop from the top to the bottom is 36DF units which causes too much damage. How can I make the highest stair wait for the player to walk on before it lowers to the lower point. Here is INF code I have for that sector:

seq
class: elevator move_floor
stop: 18 hold
stop: -18 hold
seqend

I guess there are a couple of alternatives to my stairs dilemma:
1: I could put a revive in the secret room.